Approved Persons

Approval as an Approved Person – Conditions of Eligibility and Regulatory Requirements

All requests related to Approved Persons (Approval, Termination, Transfer and Status Change) must be submitted through the Participant Portal. Administrator access is provided to all Approved Participants of the Bourse. The Portal administrator of each Approved Participant is responsible for granting access to the various modules of the Portal to the employees of their firm.

Approved Participants' employees must be approved as Approved Persons by the Regulatory Division of the Bourse before being granted access to the Bourse's trading system. Note that individuals granted sole access by Approved Participants to functionalities designed to cancel orders for risk management purposes are not required to be Approved Persons. Pursuant to subparagraph 3.100(b)(i) of the Rules and Regulation 23-103 respecting Electronic Trading and Direct Electronic Access to Marketplaces, such functionalities must be documented as part of the Approved Participant's risk management and supervisory controls, policies and procedures.

An Approved Participant may also request the approval of an employee of one of its affiliated corporations or subsidiaries. One should note that a person employed by an Approved Participant's affiliated corporation or a subsidiary is not required to become an Approved Person unless such person wishes to arrange block transactions and riskless basis cross transactions. The employee of an affiliated corporation or subsidiary of an Approved Participant approved as an Approved Person would also be allowed to handle trade requests originating from the Approved Participant and the Approved Participant's clients.

All applications and supporting documentation and information must be submitted through the Participant Portal. The application will be deemed to have been abandoned and will be cancelled by the Bourse if the applicant does not provide all the information and documents required by the Bourse within six (6) months after submitting the application.

Applicants are required to complete the training course(s) and successfully pass the examination(s) related to the relevant Bourse product(s). The Participant Portal administrator is responsible for providing access to the training platform and should consult the "Portal Administration" video and the Training Platform Guide.

For further information, please see the guidelines on the approval process of Approved Persons.

Transfer of an Approved Person

The Regulatory Division must be notified when an Approved Person becomes a new employee of another Approved Participant within 90 days of being transferred. To be valid, this transfer request must be preceded by a notice of termination of employment from the previous employer.

Any other document deemed relevant by the Regulatory Division, must be submitted to the Regulatory Division for approval through the Participant Portal. There are no fees associated with transfer requests.

Status Change of an Approved Person

The Regulatory Division must be notified through the Participant Portal when an Approved Person wishes to add a new product to the list of authorized products.

Submitting the Termination Notice of an Approved Person

When there is termination of employment of an Approved Person, the Approved Participant must notify the Regulatory Division through the Participant Portal within ten (10) business days following the termination date of employment. Failure to inform the Regulatory Division of a termination of employment within the prescribed delay results in late fees.

Requesting an MX Identification Number (MX-Id)

MX-Id requests must be submitted through the Participant Portal. Administrator access is provided to all Approved Participants of the Bourse. The Portal administrator of each Approved Participant is responsible for granting access to the various modules of the Portal to the employees of the firm.

Personnes approuvées

Approbation à titre de Personne Approuvée – Conditions d'admissibilité et exigences réglementaires

Toute demande concernant les personnes approuvées (approbation, cessation, transfert et changement de statut), doit être transmise par l'entremise du portail des participants. Des accès à titre d'administrateur ont été fournis à tous les Participants Agréés de la Bourse. Les administrateurs du portail de chaque Participant Agréé sont responsables de l'octroi des accès aux différents modules du portail aux employés de leur firme.

Les employés d'un Participant Agréé doivent obligatoirement être approuvés à titre de Personne Approuvée par la Division de la réglementation de la Bourse avant de pouvoir accéder au système de négociation électronique de la Bourse. À noter que tout individu à qui un accès est accordé, par un Participant Agréé, à des fonctionnalités conçues pour annuler des ordres aux fins de gestion des risques n'a pas l'obligation d'être une Personne Approuvée. En vertu du sous-paragraphe 3.100(b)(i) des Règles et du Règlement 23-103 sur la négociation électronique et l'accès électronique direct aux marchés, de telles fonctionnalités doivent être documentées dans le cadre des contrôles, politiques et procédures de gestion des risques et de surveillance du Participant Agréé.

Il est également possible pour un Participant Agréé de demander l'approbation pour un employé d'une de ses corporations affiliées ou de ses filiales. À noter qu'un employé d'une corporation affiliée ou d'une filiale d'un Participant Agréé n'a pas l'obligation de devenir une Personne Approuvée à moins que cet employé souhaite effectuer des opérations en bloc et des opérations de base sans risque. Un employé d'une corporation affiliée ou d'une filiale d'un Participant Agréé, approuvé à titre de Personne Approuvée, peut aussi traiter les demandes de négociation émanant du Participant Agréé et des clients du Participant Agréé

Toute demande d'approbation à titre de Personne Approuvée ainsi que tout document et renseignement requis au soutien de la demande doit être transmise par l'entremise du portail des participants. La demande sera considérée comme ayant été abandonnée et elle sera annulée par la Bourse si le requérant ne fournit pas l'ensemble des renseignements et des documents exigés par la Bourse dans un délai de six (6) mois à compter de la date de dépôt de la demande.

Tout requérant doit compléter la formation et réussir l'examen se rapportant au produit de la Bourse qu'il souhaite négocier. L'administrateur du portail est responsable de donner les accès à cette formation et peut consulter, sur cette page, la vidéo « Administration du portail », ou le Guide - Plateforme de formation.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consulter les lignes directrices sur le processus d'approbation des Personnes Approuvées.

Effectuer le transfert d'une Personne Approuvée

La Division de la réglementation doit être avisée lorsqu'une Personne Approuvée devient nouvellement l'employé d'un autre Participant Agréé dans un délai de 90 jours suivant son transfert. Pour être valable, cette demande de transfert doit être précédée d'un avis de cessation d'emploi du précédent employeur.

Tout document ou renseignement jugé pertinent par la Division de la réglementation doivent être soumis par l'entremise du portail des participants pour fins d'approbation. Il n'y a pas de frais associés aux transferts.

Effectuer le changement de statut de Personne Approuvée

La Division de la réglementation doit être avisée par l'entremise du portail des participants lorsqu'une Personne Approuvée désire ajouter un nouveau produit à la liste des produits autorisés.

Transmettre un avis de cessation d'emploi d'une Personne Approuvée

Lorsqu'il y a cessation d'emploi d'une Personne Approuvée, le Participant Agréé doit aviser la Division de la réglementation par l'entremise du portail des participants dans un délai de dix (10) jours ouvrables suivant la date de cessation. Le défaut d'informer la Division de la réglementation d'une cessation d'emploi dans les délais prescrits donne lieu à des frais de retard.

Obtenir un numéro d'identification (MX-Id)

Toute demande d'un numéro d'identifiant doit se faire par l'entremise du portail des participants. Des accès à titre d'administrateur ont été fournis à tous les Participants Agréés de la Bourse. Les administrateurs du portail de chaque Participant Agréé sont responsables de donner les accès aux différents modules du portail aux employés de leur firme.