Mandate and Roles

Under the Autorité des marchés financiers (l'"AMF") oversight, the Regulatory Division is intended to protect the investors and to promote the integrity of exchange-traded financial derivatives markets in Canada through the development and the consistent application of clear, fair rules and policies that are effectively adapted to market needs. The Division is comprised of the following four services, each with a well-defined role.

Core Regulatory Functions

The Core Regulatory Functions service ensures the performance of regulatory activities in accordance with the Division's mandate: Examinations, Market Analysis and Investigations.

Examinations

The examiners conduct trade desk reviews of the Bourse Approved Participants. The purpose of these reviews is to verify the compliance of the Approved Participants' trading practices with the Rules of the Bourse. Among other things, such examinations involve:

  • verifying samples of orders entered on the trading system and of transactions executed thereon;
  • reviewing procedures in place and their adequacy and completeness;
  • verifying various books and records.

Once the examination is completed, a report is issued to the Approved Participant summarizing any deficiency identified in the course of the examination and setting out requirements or recommendations to correct observed deficiencies.

Market Analysis

The market analysts perform market surveillance to identify potential breaches of the Rules of the Bourse, monitor insider trading activities on the options market of the Bourse, and analyze any complaints received. The group also reviews transactions on derivatives to determine whether trading rules and principles are complied with and fairly maintained, and whether such transactions involve abusive or manipulative trading practices. The market analysts are also responsible for reviewing and analyzing the various reports that Approved Participants are required to file on a regular basis with the Division, as well as ensuring compliance with position limits and the evaluation of any exemption requests.

Investigations

An investigation may be opened following findings of potential regulatory breaches identified as part of an examination or analysis (including the review of a complaint). When the investigation concludes that there has been a potential violation of the Rules of the Bourse, the file may be transferred to Enforcement and Market Regulation.

Enforcement and Market Regulation

The Enforcement and Market Regulation service is responsible for enforcing the rules of the Bourse through the disciplinary process. Upon receipt of an investigation, after review and analysis, the filing of a disciplinary complaint by the Vice President and Chief Regulatory Officer may be recommended. The matter is heard by the Disciplinary Committee of the Bourse in order to rule on a contested cause or to ratify a settlement agreement between the parties.

This service also participates in the development of new rules, their modification and the following requests for approval:

  • domestic or foreign Approved Participant; and
  • Approved Person

Strategy and Regulatory Outreach

The Strategy and Regulatory Outreach service has a dual mandate: to ensure the coordination and prioritization of the Division's regulatory initiatives by considering their added value, cohesion with current initiatives and the needs of all stakeholders, and; to act as a resource to participants for all questions relating to rules and business practices.

Data and Systems

The Data and Systems service ensures the sound management and governance of regulatory, personal and confidential data collected by the Division. This service is also responsible for determining the preferred orientations regarding technological systems and initiatives (particularly in artificial intelligence and machine learning) as well as the valorization of data.

Mandat et roles

Sous la supervision de l'Autorité des marchés financiers (l'"AMF"), la Division de la réglementation (la « Division ») a pour mandat de protéger les investisseurs et d'assurer l'intégrité du marché des dérivés financiers négociés en bourse au Canada. La Division est composée des quatre services suivants, chacun ayant un rôle bien défini.

Fonctions réglementaires principales

Le service de Fonctions réglementaires principales assure l'exécution des activités de réglementation conformément au mandat de la Division: inspections, analyses de marché et enquêtes.

Inspections

Les inspecteurs examinent les pupitres de négociation d'instruments dérivés des participants agréés de la Bourse. Ces inspections permettent de vérifier la conformité des pratiques de négociation des participants agréés avec les Règles de la Bourse. Ces inspections comprennent, entre autres :

  • la vérification d'échantillons d'ordres saisis dans le système de négociation automatisé de la Bourse et d'opérations qui y sont exécutées;
  • l'examen des procédures en place ainsi que leur pertinence et leur intégralité;
  • la vérification de différents registres et dossiers.

Une fois l'inspection complétée, un rapport résumant toute lacune repérée pendant l'inspection et établissant des exigences ou recommandations pour corriger les lacunes observées est produit à l'attention du participant agréé.

Analyses de marché

Les analystes de marché effectuent la surveillance des marchés afin de déceler des infractions potentielles aux Règles de la Bourse, surveillent les opérations d'initiés sur le marché des options de la Bourse et analysent les plaintes reçues. Les analystes de marché passent aussi en revue les opérations effectuées sur les marchés des produits dérivés afin de déterminer si les règles et les principes de négociation sont respectés et équitablement maintenus et si ces opérations comportent des pratiques de négociation abusives ou manipulatoires. Le service d'analyse de marché a également la responsabilité de réviser et d'analyser les divers rapports que les participants agréés doivent déposer régulièrement auprès de la Division ainsi que de s'assurer du respect des limites de position et du traitement de tout demande d'exemption à cet égard.

Enquêtes

Une enquête peut être ouverte suite à des constats d'infraction réglementaire potentiel lors d'une inspection ou à la suite d'une analyse (incluant la révision d'une plainte). Lorsque l'enquête en arrive à la conclusion qu'il y a potentiellement eu infraction aux Règles de la Bourse, le dossier peut être transféré à la Mise en application et réglementation des marchés.

Mise en application et réglementation des marchés

Le service de Mise en application et réglementation des marchés est responsable de la mise en application des règles de la Bourse jusqu'au processus disciplinaire. Sur réception d'une enquête, après révision et analyse, le dépôt d'une plainte disciplinaire par la vice-présidente et chef de la réglementaire peut être recommandée. Cette affaire sera entendue par le Comité de discipline de la Bourse afin de statuer sur une cause contestée ou pour entériner une entente de règlement convenue entre les parties.

Ce service participe aussi à l'élaboration de nouvelles règles, à leur modification et traite les demandes d'approbation suivantes:

  • participant agréé canadien ou étranger; et
  • personne approuvée.

Stratégie et liaison réglementaire

Ce service à un double mandat: soit celui d'assurer une coordination et priorisations des initiatives réglementaires de la Division en considérant leur valeur ajoutée, la cohésion avec les initiatives en cours et les besoins de toutes les parties prenantes et d'agir comme ressource auprès des participants pour toute question relative aux règles et aux pratiques commerciales.

Systèmes et données

Le service Systèmes et données assure la bonne gestion et gouvernance des données réglementaires, personnelles et confidentielles recueillies par la Division. Ce service est également responsable de déterminer les orientations privilégiées en lien avec les systèmes et initiatives technologiques (notamment en intelligence artificielle et apprentissage automatique) et la valorisation des données.