The Division, in a Nutshell

  • The Montréal Exchange (the “Exchange”) has a major stake in maintaining the confidence of investors and financial institutions in the Canadian derivatives markets.
  • In Canada, our self-regulatory organization has the mission of maintaining the transparency, credibility and integrity of this country's exchange-traded derivatives market. It provides a variety of financial safeguards for market users.
  • Pursuant to the Exchange’s Recognition Order as a self-regulatory organization and to the Rules regarding the Rules regarding the Regulatory Division the Exchange must ensure that the Regulatory Division is provided with sufficient resources and funds. Furthermore, no fines or penalties collected by or on behalf of the Regulatory Division may be distributed or transferred to the Exchange for commercial purposes or for payment of dividends.
  • The Division funds its programs and activities (including surveillance, investigations and examinations), through distinct regulatory fees assessed directly on approved participants of the Exchange. Regulatory fees collected are for the exclusive use of regulatory operations.

La Division, en bref

  • Il est essentiel pour la Bourse de Montréal (la "Bourse") de préserver la confiance des investisseurs et des institutions financières envers les marchés des instruments dérivés au Canada.
  • Au Canada, notre organisme d'autoréglementation a pour mission d'assurer la transparence, la crédibilité et l'intégrité du marché des instruments dérivés financiers négociables au pays. Il fournit aux utilisateurs des marchés une variété de mesures de protection financières.
  • Aux termes de la décision de reconnaissance de la Bourse comme organisme d'autoréglementation et des Règles concernant la Division de la réglementation la Bourse doit s'assurer que la Division de la réglementation dispose de ressources et de fonds suffisants. De plus, aucune amende ni aucune pénalité réglementaire imposées par la Division de la réglementation ou pour son compte ne peuvent être distribuées ou transférées à la Bourse à des fins commerciales ou pour le versement de dividendes.
  • La Division autofinance ses programmes et ses activités (comme la surveillance, les enquêtes et les inspections) au moyen de frais réglementaires cotisés directement auprès des participants agréés de la Bourse. Ces frais ne peuvent être affectés qu'aux activités réglementaires.