Direct Electronic Access

Regulation Respecting Electronic Trading and Direct Electronic Access (DEA) to Marketplaces

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

It is intended to provide Approved Participants and Foreign Approved Participants (“the Participants”) of Bourse de Montréal Inc. (the “Bourse”) a list of frequently asked questions (FAQ) pursuant to Regulation 23-103 Respecting Electronic Access to Marketplaces (“the ETR”) requirements.

One of the requirements of the ETR, reflected in Article 3.5 (b) (vii) of the Rules of the Bourse (former subparagraphs 2.8 and 2.9 of Article 6366), is the assignment by the Participant of a client identifier (the “Client ID”) for each of their clients granted direct electronic access (“DEA client”) to the Bourse.

This page is an updated extract of circular 083-17 published on the Bourse's website on June 5, 2017.

Questions and Answers

The following are specific questions and their responses by the Regulatory Division of the Bourse (“the Division”).

1. What form of DEA Client ID does the Bourse require?

The Bourse requires that the Participant submit the Client ID for each client who is given direct electronic access through one of the two available forms, depending on whether the Fix Protocol or the Sail Protocol is used.

Fix Protocol

FieldTagField ValueFormatTypeAssigned by
SenderCompID494-8 charactersAlphanumericDefaultMX
SenderSubID50Maximum 11 charactersAlphanumericAdditional #1MX
Account1Maximum 12 charactersAlphanumericAdditional #2Participant

SAIL Protocol

FieldField ValueFormatTypeAssigned by
M-X |IDMaximum 8 charactersAlphanumericDefaultMX
Clearing Instruction (Account Info)Maximum 12 charactersAlphanumericAdditionalParticipant

2. For each client given direct electronic access to the Bourse, how should these DEA Clients’ orders be identified?

Each order entered and sent to the Bourse for or on behalf of a DEA client must be identified with the appropriate DEA Client ID determined by the participant and established within the parameters of Question 1.

3. What is the purpose of providing the DEA Client IDs to the Division?

It is a regulatory requirement for the Participant to provide the Client IDs to the Division. This is essential as it identifies the clients with direct electronic access submitting orders to the Bourse. This allows the Division to monitor trading on its marketplace.

4. How does the participant notify the Division of DEA Client ID additions and deletions where applicable?

The Bourse provides on its website, a downloadable spreadsheet template to facilitate reporting. The spreadsheet is accessible under the “Circulars” section of the “Publications” tab and by selecting the annex of the Circular 046-17, or by clicking here. Once the Annex form is completed with the required information, the form can be submitted via email to client_id_reg@tmx.com.

5. How often must the DEA Client IDs be submitted to the Division?

Upon granting direct electronic access to the client, the Participant must immediately inform the Division of this addition in the prescribed manner. (Art. 4.6. 3) b) Regulation 23-103 respecting electronic trading and direct electronic access to marketplace)

If a client ceases to be a DEA client, the Participant must promptly inform the Division as well.

An appropriate DEA Client ID form must be submitted to the Division each time an additional client is identified and has been granted electronic access to the Bourse and where the use of a Client ID is required. The Bourse expects the Client IDs be reported in a prompt manner as per Circular 046-17 and Article 3.5 of the Rules of the Bourse (former Article 6366).

6. Does the Bourse require Client ID disclosure for inactive DEA clients as well?

Yes. The Bourse’s expectation is to have the Participant submit, to the Division, a Client ID form for all clients who have direct electronic access to the Bourse whether active and inactive.

7. Does the Bourse require the Client ID information of the end clients of DEA clients whom they provide access to the Bourse?

No. The Bourse only requires a client identifier for each DEA client of the Participant, and not for clients of the DEA client.

8. Who should be contacted for any DEA Client ID related questions?

Participants may contact the Division at info.mxr@tmx.com for regulatory-related questions and the Bourse’s Technical Help Desk at samsupport@tmx.com for questions of a technical nature.

9. For the FIX Protocol, is it possible to submit the CME Tag 50 to the Division instead of the SenderSubID Tag 50 assigned by the Bourse?

Yes. Participants may have the option to submit the CME Tag 50 to the Division instead of the SenderSubID Tag 50 assigned by the Bourse. However, prior to making any modification, Participants must communicate the Tag 50 information to the Technical Help Desk, at 1-877-588-8489, or by email at samsupport@tmx.com.

Accès électronique direct

Cette page est un extrait le la circulaire 083-17 publiée sur le site de la Bourse le 5 juin 2017.

Règlement sur la négociation électronique et l’accès électronique direct (AED) aux marchés

Foire aux questions (FAQ)

Elle vise à fournir aux participants agréés et aux participants agréés étrangers (« les participants ») de Bourse de Montréal Inc. (la « Bourse ») des réponses à une série de questions courantes sur les exigences relatives au Règlement 23-103 sur la négociation électronique et l’accès électronique direct aux marchés (le règlement sur la négociation électronique, ou « RNE »).

L’une des exigences du RNE, intégrée dans les sous-alinéas 2.8 et 2.9 de l’article 6366 des Règles de la Bourse, concerne l’attribution par un participant d’un « identificateur client » pour chaque client à qui il accorde un accès électronique direct à la Bourse (client disposant d’un accès électronique direct à la Bourse, ou « client AED »).

Questions et réponses

Voici une liste de questions précises accompagnées des réponses de la Division de la réglementation (la « Division »).

1. Quelle forme peut prendre l’identificateur d’un client AED exigé par la Bourse ?

L’identificateur client que le participant attribue lorsqu’il accorde un accès électronique direct aux marchés peut prendre l’une des deux formes exigées par la Bourse, selon que le client emploie le protocole FIX ou le protocole SAIL.

Protocole FIX

ChampétiqueterValeur du champFormatTypeAttribué par
SenderCompID49De 4 à 8 caractèresAlphanumériquePar défautMX
SenderSubID50Maximum de 11 caractèresAlphanumériqueAdditionnel n° 1MX
Account1Maximum 12 caractèresAlphanumériqueAdditionnel n° 2Participant

Protocole SAIL

ChampValeur du champFormatTypeAttribué par
M-X Trader IDMaximum de 8 caractèresAlphanumériquePar défautMX
Clearing Instruction (Account Info)Maximum de 12 caractèresAlphanumériqueAdditionnelParticipant

2. Comment les ordres de chaque client AED devraient-ils être identifiés ?

Chaque ordre qui est saisi et acheminé à la Bourse pour un client AED doit comporter l’identificateur approprié du client AED déterminé selon les paramètres de la question 1.

3. Pourquoi le participant doit-il fournir les identificateurs des clients AED à la Division ?

Il s’agit d’une obligation réglementaire. Il est essentiel que le participant fournisse les identificateurs des clients AED à la Division, puisque cela permet d’identifier les clients qui disposent d’un accès électronique direct à la Bourse et qui y soumettent des ordres. Les identificateurs des clients AED permettent à la Division de surveiller les opérations sur ses marchés.

4. De quelle manière un participant peut-il aviser la Division de l’ajout ou de la suppression de l’identificateur d’un client AED, le cas échéant ?

La Bourse fournit sur son site web un modèle de tableur téléchargeable permettant de consigner ces renseignements sous forme de rapport. Le tableur se trouve en annexe de la circulaire 046-17 dans la section « Circulaires » de l’onglet « Publications » du site web et est accessible en cliquant ici. Après avoir rempli l’annexe, l’information doit être transmise par courriel à client_ID_reg@tmx.com.

5. À quelle fréquence le participant doit-il soumettre les identificateurs des clients AED à la Division ?

Après avoir accordé un accès électronique direct à l’un de ses clients, le participant doit immédiatement en informer la Division selon la manière prescrite. ​​(Art. 4.6. 3) b) du Règlement 23-103 sur la négociation électronique et l'accès électronique direct aux marchés)

De même, si le client cesse d’être un client AED, le participant doit en informer aussitôt la Division.

Chaque fois qu’un nouveau client se voit accorder un accès électronique direct à la Bourse et lorsque l’utilisation d’un identificateur client est requise, un formulaire approprié d’identification de client AED doit être soumis à la Bourse. La Bourse s’attend à ce que les identificateurs des clients AED lui soient communiqués rapidement selon les termes de la circulaire 046-17 et de l’article 6366 des Règles de la Bourse.

6. La Bourse exige-t-elle que le participant lui soumette les identificateurs client de ses clients AED inactifs?

La Bourse s’attend à ce que le participant soumette à la Division un formulaire d’identification de client pour chacun des clients à qui il a accordé un accès électronique direct à la Bourse, qu’ils soient actifs ou inactifs.

7. La Bourse exige-t-elle un identificateur client pour chaque utilisateur final à qui les clients AED du participant ont accordé un accès à la Bourse ?

Non. La Bourse exige uniquement un identificateur client pour chacun des clients AED du participant, et non pour les clients d’un client AED du participant.

8. Qui faut-il joindre pour poser des questions concernant les identificateurs des clients AED ?

Les participants peuvent communiquer avec la Division à info.mxr@tmx.com en ce qui a trait aux questions de nature réglementaire et avec le Centre d’assistance technique de la Bourse à samsupport@tmx.com en ce qui concerne les questions de nature technique.

9. Pour le protocole Fix, est-ce possible de soumettre le Tag 50 du CME à la Division au lieu du SenderSubId Tag 50 attribué par la Bourse

Oui. Les participants ont l’option de soumettre le Tag 50 du CME à la Division au lieu du SenderSubId attribué par la Bourse. Cependant, avant de faire toute modification, les participants doivent communiquer les informations du Tag 50 au Centre d’assistance technique de la Bourse en téléphonant au 1-877-588-8489 ou en envoyant un courriel à samsupport@tmx.com.