User Group

Objective

The Regulatory Division (the “Division”) of Bourse de Montréal Inc. (“Bourse”) has created a Regulatory User Group for the purpose of exchanging ideas, insights and perspective with approved participants and foreign approved participants (the “participants”) of the Bourse in regard to regulatory matters.

Mandate

The mandate of the Regulatory User Group is for the participants to provide input on regulatory policy initiatives, rule amendments and to present regulatory issues that are relevant to the Bourse users. Members of the Regulatory User Group are expected to provide input that is independent of their personal interests or the interests of the participant they are representing; members of the Regulatory User Group are expected to represent the best interests of the market.

Composition

The Regulatory User Group is comprised of representatives of the Bourse’s participants and personnel of the Division as determined by the Vice-president of the Division.

The Division expects the Regulatory User Group to be comprised of at least twelve members that are authorized representatives of Canadian participants (one to be appointed by the Investment Industry Association of Canada), of foreign participants (at least one to be appointed by the FIA) and of diversified participants (institutional brokers, retail brokers, market makers, liquidity providers, agency traders, proprietary trading firms).

To become a member of the Regulatory User Group, an individual must be employed and authorized to act for a participant. In the event that the number of candidates exceeds the number of positions available, the Vice-President of the Division may appoint more members based on the diversification criteria.

A term on the Regulatory User Group would be for a period of two years with a limit of three terms. Should a member vacate his/her position during a term and is not replaced by another representative of the participant, the Vice-President of the Division shall appoint a new member based on the existing pool of applicants.

Operating Mode

The Senior Advisor, Regulatory Affairs, of the Division will be responsible for coordinating the activities of the Regulatory User Group including convening the meetings. The Regulatory User Group meets four times per calendar year, two meetings are held in person (one in Montreal and one in Toronto) and two touch-base meetings are held via conference call. For the meetings held in person, a conference call-in will be available for the members unable to attend onsite.

Groupe des usagers

Objectif

La Division de la réglementation (la « Division ») de Bourse de Montréal Inc. (la « Bourse ») a créé un Groupe des usagers de la réglementation (le “Groupe des usagers”) dans le but d’échanger avec les participants agréés et participant agréés étrangers (les “participants”) de la Bourse des idées, points de vue et perspectives sur des questions réglementaires.

Mandat

Le mandat du Groupe des usagers est de permettre aux participants de contribuer à des initiatives relatives à la politique réglementaire et à des modifications réglementaires et de soumettre toute question de nature réglementaire d’intérêt pour les usagers de la Bourse. Il est attendu de chacun des membres du Groupe des usagers que sa contribution soit indépendante de tout intérêt personnel et de tout intérêt du participant qu’il représente. Les membres du Groupe des usagers doivent représenter l'intérêt supérieur des marchés.

Composition

Le Groupe des usagers est composé de représentants autorisés des participants de la Bourse et de certains membres du personnel de la Division tel que déterminé par la vice-présidente de la Division.

La Division souhaite que le Groupe des usagers soit composé d’au moins douze membres, comprenant des représentants autorisés de participants canadiens (dont l’un à être désigné par l’Association canadienne du commerce des valeurs mobilières) et de participants étrangers (dont au moins un à être désigné par le FIA), et est diversifié (courtiers institutionnels, courtiers de détail, mainteneurs de marché, fournisseurs de liquidité, négociateurs pour compte, firmes de négociation pour compte propre).

Pour devenir membre du Groupe des usagers, une personne doit être à l’emploi d’un participant et autorisée à agir pour le participant. Si le nombre de candidatures reçues excède le nombre de sièges disponibles, la vice-présidente de la Division peut procéder à la nomination de membres additionnels afin que la composition du Groupe des usagers soit diversifiée.

La durée d’un mandat sur le Groupe des usagers est de deux ans avec une limite de trois mandats. Dans l’éventualité où un membre quitte son siège en cours de mandat et qu’il n’est pas remplacé par un autre représentant du participant, la vice-présidente de la Division nommera un nouveau membre à même la liste des candidatures reçues.

Mode de fonctionnement

Le conseiller principal, affaires règlementaires, de la Division est responsable de coordonner les activités du Groupe des usagers dont la convocation des rencontres. Quatre rencontres du Groupe des usagers auront lieu par année civile, dont deux en personne (une à Montréal et l’autre à Toronto) et deux par conférence téléphonique. Pour les rencontres ayant lieu en personne, un appel conférence sera disponible pour les membres qui ne peuvent y assister sur place.