MX Approved Persons

Approval as an Approved Person – Eligibility and Regulatory Requirements

As of June 28, 2019, all requests related to Approved Persons (Approval, Termination, Transfer and Status Change) must be submitted through the Participant Portal. An administrator's access has been provided to each Approved Participants of the Bourse. The Portal administrator of each Approved Participant is responsible for granting access to the various modules of the Portal to the employees of their firm.

Approved Participants' employees must be approved as Approved Persons by the Regulatory Division of the Bourse before being granted access to the Bourse's trading system.

An Approved Participant may also request the approval of an employee of one of its affiliated corporations or subsidiaries. One should note that a person employed by an Approved Participant's affiliated corporation or a subsidiary is not required to become an Approved Person unless such person wishes to arrange block transactions and special terms transactions notably. The employee of an affiliated corporation or subsidiary of an Approved Participant approved as an Approved Person would also be allowed to handle trading requests originating from the Approved Participant and its clients and, with the approval of the Approved participant and the Bourse, trading requests originating from the Approved Participants' affiliated corporation or subsidiary and its clients.

Any application for approval as an approved person must be submitted through the Participant Portal. To obtain such approval, all required documents and information in support of the application must be completed and forwarded to the Regulatory Division through the portal.

In the event of the applicant's failure to provide all information and documentation required by the Bourse in support of or in connection with an application, it will be deemed to have been abandoned and cancelled six (6) months after the date of submission of the application to the Regulatory Division.

Employees of Canadian Approved Participants and employees of an affiliated corporation or a subsidiary of this Canadian Approved Participant are required to register for the training courses of the Regulatory Division. Applicants must complete and sign a training certificate confirming that they have read the course material, that they understand it, and that they agree to comply with all the Bourse's Rules.

Since October 1st, 2018, registration for this training is also mandatory for employees of a Foreign Approved Participant or for employees of an affiliated corporation or subsidiary of this Foreign Approved Participant. This requirement does not apply to employees who have been approved by the Bourse prior to October 1, 2018 and whose approved person status is still active at that date.

Applying for the transfer of an Approved Person

The Regulatory Division must be notified when an Approved Person becomes an employee of a new Approved Participant within 90 days of being transferred. To be valid, this transfer request must be preceded by a notice of termination of employment from the previous employer.

Any other document deemed relevant by the Regulatory Division, must be submitted to the Regulatory Division for approval. There are no fees associated with transfers.

As of June 28, 2019, any transfer request from an approved person must be submitted through the Participant Portal.

Status change of an Approved Person

The Regulatory Division must be notified when an Approved Person wishes to add a new product to the list of products that he or she is authorized to negotiate.

As of June 28, 2019, any transfer request from an approved person must be submitted through the Participant Portal.

Submitting the termination notice of an Approved Person

When there is termination of employment of an Approved Person, the Regulatory Division must be advised by the Approved Participant within ten (10) business days following the termination date of employment.

Failure to inform the Regulatory Division of a termination of employment within the prescribed delay results into an administrative penalty:

  • First occurrence: $100 (per late business day, for a maximum of $1,000)
  • Second or following occurrence in a same calendar year: $250 (per late business day, for a maximum of $2,500)

As of June 28, 2019, any transfer request from an approved person must be submitted through the Participant Portal.

Requesting an MX identification number (MX-Id)

As of June 28, 2019, any request for access to the trading system of the Bourse must also be made through the Participant Portal. An administrator's access has been provided to each Approved Participants of the Bourse. The Portal administrator of each Approved Participant is responsible for granting access to the various modules of the Portal to the employees of their firm.

Négociateurs

Approbation à titre de Personne Approuvée - Conditions d’admissibilité et exigences réglementaires

Depuis le 28 juin 2019, toutes les demandes concernant les personnes approuvées (approbation, cessation, transfert et changement de statut), doivent être transmises par l'entremise du portail des participants. Des accès à titre d'administrateur ont été fournies à tous les participants agréés de la Bourse. Les administrateurs du portail de chaque participant sont responsables de l'octroi des accès aux différents modules du portail aux employés de leur firme.

Les employés d'un participant agréé doivent obligatoirement être approuvés à titre de personne approuvée par la Division de la réglementation de la Bourse avant de pouvoir accéder au système de négociation électronique de la Bourse.

Il est également possible pour un participant agréé de demander l'approbation d'un employé d'une de ses corporations affiliées ou de ses filiales. À noter qu'un employé d'une corporation affiliée ou d'une filiale d'un participant agréé n'a pas l'obligation de devenir une personne approuvée à moins que cet employé souhaite notamment effectuer des transactions en bloc et à termes spéciaux. Un employé d'une corporation affiliée ou d'une filiale d'un participant agréé peut aussi traiter les demandes de négociation émanant du participant agréé et de ses clients et, avec l'approbation du participant agréé et de la Bourse, les demandes de négociation émanant de la corporation affiliée ou de la filiale du participant agréé et de ses clients.

Toute demande d'approbation à titre de personne approuvée doit être transmise par l'entremise du portail des participants. Afin d'obtenir une approbation à titre de personne approuvée, tous les documents et renseignements requis au soutien de la demande doivent être dûment remplis et acheminés à la Division de la réglementation par l'entremise du portail.

La demande sera considérée comme ayant été abandonnée et elle sera annulée par la Bourse si le requérant ne fournit pas l'ensemble des renseignements et des documents exigés par la Bourse dans un délai inférieur à six (6) mois à compter de la date de soumission de la demande à la Division de la réglementation de la Bourse.

Les employés des participants agréés canadiens ainsi que les employés d'une corporation affiliée ou d'une filiale de ce participant agréé canadien doivent également s'inscrire aux formations de la Division de la réglementation. Les requérants doivent compléter et signer un formulaire d'attestation de formation confirmant qu'ils ont lu le matériel du ou des cours, qu'ils le comprennent et qu'ils s'engagent à se conformer à toutes les Règles de la Bourse.

Depuis le 1er octobre 2018, l'inscription à ces formations est également obligatoire pour les employés d'un Participant Agréé étranger ou pour les employés d'une corporation affiliée ou d'une filiale de ce Participant Agréé étranger. Cette exigence ne s'applique pas aux employés qui ont été approuvés par la Bourse avant le 1er octobre 2018 et dont le statut de personne approuvée est toujours actif à cette date.

Effectuer le transfert d'une personne approuvée

La Division de la réglementation doit être avisée lorsqu'une personne approuvée devient l'employé d'un nouveau participant agréé dans un délai de 90 jours suivant son transfert. Pour être valable, cette demande de transfert doit être précédée d'un avis de cessation d'emploi du précédent employeur.

Tout document ou renseignement jugé pertinent par la Division de la réglementation doivent être soumis à cette dernière pour fins d'approbation. Il n'y a pas de frais associés aux transferts.

Depuis le 28 juin 2019, toute demande de transfert d'une personne approuvée doit être transmise par l'entremise du portail des participants.

Effectuer le changement de statut de personne approuvée

La Division de la réglementation doit être avisée lorsqu'une personne approuvée désire ajouter un nouveau produit à la liste des produit qu'il ou elle est autorisée à négocier.

Depuis le 28 juin 2019, toute demande de changement de statut d'une personne approuvée doit être transmise par l'entremise du portail des participants.

Transmettre un avis de cessation d'emploi d'une personne approuvée

Lorsqu'il y a cessation d'emploi d'une personne approuvée, le participant agréé doit aviser la Division de la réglementation dans un délai de dix (10) jours ouvrables suivant la date de cessation.

Le défaut d'informer la Division de la réglementation d'une cessation d'emploi dans les délais prescrits donne lieu à une pénalité administrative:

  • Première occurrence : 100$ (par jour ouvrable de retard, pour un maximum de 1 000 $)
  • Première récidive et pour toute récidive subséquente au cours d'une même année civile: 250$ (par jour ouvrable de retard, pour un maximum de 2 500 $)

Depuis le 28 juin 2019, tout avis de cessation d'une personne approuvée doit être transmis par l'entremise du portail des participants.

Obtenir un numéro d'identification (MX-Id)

Depuis le 28 juin 2019, toute demande d'accès au système de négociation de la Bourse doit également se faire par l'entremise du portail des participants. Des accès à titre d'administrateur ont été fournies à tous les participants agréés de la Bourse. Les administrateurs du portail de chaque participant sont responsables de donner les accès aux différents modules du portail aux employés de leur firme.