Personal Information Collection Policy

Collection, use and disclosure

Bourse de Montréal Inc. and its Regulatory Division (collectively, the “Bourse”), in the course of their regulatory activities, collect information about you which may be of personal, confidential, non-public, criminal or other similar nature (hereinafter, referred as the “Personal Information”). This Personal Information may be shared through the Personal Information Form or any other forms used by the Bourse for approval or identification purposes, as well as through any other forms of communication with the Bourse. The Bourse may use or disclose this Personal Information for the following purposes:

  • to conduct background checks and verifications;
  • to control and verify the accuracy of the Personal Information provided;
  • to confirm the integrity, ethical conduct and competency to act as an officer, director, trader, services provider, liaison agent, employee, client or consultant for a Canadian or foreign approved participant;
  • to consider the eligibility of an entity to be a Canadian or foreign approved participant,
  • to detect and prevent fraud, market manipulations and misconduct,
  • to conduct markets analysis, investigations, inspections or enforcement proceedings to ensure compliance with the Bourse’s rules, policies, procedures, legislation, regulation, directives, decisions or orders; and
  • to conduct any other examination, control, evaluation, analysis or verification required as part of the Bourse’s regulatory activities.

As part of its activities, the Bourse may also collect Personal Information from other sources, including but not limited to, securities regulatory authorities, self-regulatory entities, foreign exchanges, investigation bodies, courts, government agencies affected to ensure regulatory and legal compliance, and regulation services providers (collectively the “Entities”), or publicly available sources, including websites and social media platforms. The Bourse reserves the right to disclose certain Personal Information it collects in the course of its regulatory activities to the Entities or as otherwise permitted or required by law. The Entities may use such Personal Information for the purposes described above.

Your Personal Information may be transferred (or otherwise made available) to the Bourse’s affiliates and other third parties who provide services to the Bourse. For example, the Bourse uses service providers to help process, store and secure data. This may include sending email or other communications using their online services. These service providers are given the information they need to perform their designated functions, and are not authorized to use or disclose Personal Information for their own purposes. Your Personal Information may be maintained and processed by the Bourse, its affiliates and other third party service providers located in Canada or in other jurisdictions. In the event Personal Information is transferred to another jurisdiction, it will be subject to the laws of that jurisdiction and may be disclosed to or accessed by the courts, law enforcement and governmental authorities in accordance with those laws.

Failure to Consent

With your consent, Personal Information is collected by the Bourse and kept for as long as required for the purposes identified above. You may withdraw your consent at any time. If you do not consent to this Personal Information Collection Policy, or subsequently withdraw your consent, the Bourse may (i) refuse to allow you to act as an officer, director, trader, services provider, liaison agent, employee, client or consultant for a Canadian or foreign approved participant, (ii) refuse to allow an entity to become a Canadian or foreign approved participant of the Bourse, amongst other consequences.

Security

The Personal Information that is retained by the Bourse is kept in a secure environment. Only those employees of the Bourse or its service providers who require access to your Personal Information in order to accomplish the purposes and/or services identified above will be authorized to access your Personal Information. Employees of the Bourse or its service providers who have access to your Personal Information are obligated to keep it confidential.

Accuracy

Personal Information about you maintained by the Bourse that is identified by you as inaccurate or obsolete will be replaced or removed, as applicable.

Questions

If you have any questions about the privacy principles outlined above or our policies and practices, please send a written request to: Chief Privacy Officer, TMX Group, 300 - 100, Adelaide St. W., Toronto (Ontario) M5H 1S3, Canada, or by e-mail to privacyofficer@tmx.com.

Politique concernant la collecte de renseignements personnels

Collecte, utilisation et communication

Bourse de Montréal Inc. et la Division de la réglementation (ci-après collectivement, la « Bourse »), recueillent des renseignements à votre sujet qui sont de nature personnelle, confidentielle, non publique, disciplinaire, criminelle ou autre dans le cadre de ses activités réglementaires (ci-après les « Renseignements personnels »). Ces Renseignements personnels peuvent être partagés via le formulaire de renseignements personnels ou tout autre formulaire émis par la Bourse à des fins d’approbation ou d’identification, ainsi que via toute autre forme de communication avec la Bourse. La Bourse peut utiliser et/ou communiquer ces Renseignements personnels pour les fins suivantes :

  • le contrôle et la vérification des références;
  • le contrôle et la vérification de l’exactitude des Renseignements personnels;
  • l’examen de l’intégrité, de la probité et de la compétence pour agir à titre de dirigeant, d’administrateur, de négociateur, de fournisseur de services, d’agent de liaison, d’ employé, de client ou de consultant pour le compte d’un participant agréé canadien ou étranger;
  • l’examen de l’admissibilité d’une société requérante à devenir un participant agréé canadien ou étranger;
  • la détection et la prévention des fraudes, de manipulation de marché et d’inconduite;
  • la conduite d’analyse, d’enquête, d’inspection ou de procédure disciplinaire visant à assurer le respect des règles, politiques, procédures, lois, règlements, directives, décisions, ordres et ordonnances de la Bourse; et
  • tout autre examen, contrôle, évaluation, analyse ou vérification nécessaire dans le cadre des activités réglementaires de la Bourse.

Dans le cadre de ses activités, la Bourse peut également recueillir des Renseignements personnels auprès d’autres sources, dont notamment les autorités réglementaires en valeurs mobilières, les organismes d’autoréglementation, les bourses étrangères, les organismes d’enquête, les tribunaux, les organismes gouvernementaux chargés d’appliquer la loi ou les fournisseurs de services de réglementation (ci-après les « Entités »), ainsi qu’auprès de sources disponibles publiquement, incluant des sites web et plateformes de médias sociaux. La Bourse se réserve le droit de communiquer et de partager à ces Entités, des Renseignements personnels qu’elle recueille dans le cadre de ses activités réglementaires ou de toute autre manière permise ou requise par la loi. Ces Entités peuvent également utiliser les Renseignements personnels pour les fins susmentionnées.

Vos Renseignements personnels peuvent être transférés ou autrement mis à la disposition de nos filiales et à d'autres tierces parties qui fournissent des services pour la Bourse. Par exemple, nous utilisons des prestataires de services pour nous assister à traiter, enregistrer et sécuriser des données. Ceci peut inclure l'envoi d'un courriel ou de tout autre type de communication en utilisant leurs services en ligne. Nos prestataires de services reçoivent l'information dont ils nécessitent afin d'exécuter leurs fonctions désignées et ils ne sont pas autorisés à utiliser ou à divulguer les Renseignements personnels à leurs propres fins. Vos Renseignements personnels peuvent être maintenus et traités par nous, nos filiales ainsi que par d'autres tiers prestataires de services dans d'autres juridictions. Dans l'éventualité où des Renseignements personnels sont transférés dans une autre juridiction à l'extérieur du Canada, lesdits renseignements seront assujettis aux lois de cette juridiction et pourront être divulgués aux tribunaux, à la police ainsi qu'aux autorités gouvernementales et ce, conformément aux lois applicables.

Omission de consentement

Les Renseignements personnels recueillis par la Bourse sont recueillis et conservés aussi longtemps que requis par la Bourse pour les fins évoquées ci-dessus, sous la base de votre consentement. Vous pouvez retirer votre consentement en tout temps. Si vous ne consentez pas à la présente Politique de collecte de Renseignements personnels, la Bourse peut (i) vous refuser le droit d’agir à titre de dirigeant, d’administrateur, de négociateur, de promoteur, de fournisseur de services de relations avec les investisseurs ou, s’il y a lieu, d’employé, de client ou de consultant d’un participant à la Bourse ou (ii) refuser de permettre à une requérante d’être inscrite comme participant à la Bourse, entre autres.

Sécurité

La Bourse remplacera ou éliminera dans ses dossiers, le cas échéant, tous les Renseignements personnels vous concernant que vous déclarez inexacts ou désuets.

Exactitude

La Bourse remplacera ou éliminera dans ses dossiers, le cas échéant, tous les Renseignements personnels vous concernant que vous déclarez inexacts ou désuets.

Questions

Si vous avez des questions au sujet des principes de protection des Renseignements personnels décrits ci‑dessus ou au sujet de nos politiques et pratiques, veuillez les transmettre par écrit au Chef de la protection des renseignements personnels, Groupe TMX, 300 - 100, rue Adelaide O., Toronto (Ontario) M5H 1S3, Canada, ou par courriel à privacyofficer@tmx.com.