Disciplinary Processes

Procedure

Upon receipt of an investigation report recommending that procedures of a disciplinary nature be undertaken, the Exchange may serve an originating notice to an approved participant or an approved person.

The respondent must file a reply, in accordance with article 4.252 (former article 4152) of the Rules of the Exchange, within ten (10) business days following the date on which the originating notice was served.

In accordance with articles 4.301 to 4.307 (former articles 4201 to 4207) of the Rules of the Exchange, a settlement offer may also be presented at any time by the respondent. Unless the imposed sanction consists of a reprimand, a fine not exceeding $5,000, the requirement to retake one or more courses given by the CSI Global Education Inc. or any other course deemed to be appropriate, or a combination of these three sanctions, the offer must be approved by the Disciplinary Committee, failing which the file shall be subject to a hearing.

In accordance with articles 4.351 (former article 4251) and following of the Rules of the Exchange, a decision rendered by the Disciplinary Committee of the Exchange may be appealed to the Special Committee — Regulatory Division within ten (10) business days from the date the decision was served.

Any decision rendered on this instance by the Special Committee of the Regulatory Division may be appealed to the Financial Markets Administrative Tribunal, within thirty (30) days.

Equally, any final decision rendered by the Financial Markets Administrative Tribunal, may be appealed to the Court of Québec, if a notice to this effect has been filed within thirty (30) days from the date on which the decision was rendered.

Disciplinary Committee

The Disciplinary Committee hears complaints brought pursuant to article 4.201 (former article 4101).

In accordance to articles 4.202 and 4.203 (former articles 4102 and 4103) of the Rules of the Exchange, the Disciplinary Committee is comprised of three (3) persons, named by the Vice-President, Legal Affairs (Derivatives):

  • two (2) persons who are either directors, officers or partners of approved participants; or who are retired from the securities industry and who were previously directors, officers or partners of an approved participant; or members of the Special Committee of the Regulatory Division
  • one (1) person who is related neither to an approved participant, nor to the Exchange.

Fines for Minor Violations Process

On May 10, 2017, the Montréal Exchange self-certified a regulatory amendment setting up a process to impose fines for minor violations. This process, introduced by Articles 4.308 to 4.312 (former articles 4220 to 4224) of the Rules of the Exchange, is an alternative enforcement process.

This process does not qualify any violation as "minor". Only the circumstances leading to the commission of a violation as listed in Article 4.308 (former article 4220) can be considered as "minor" and, as such, justify a decision from the Vice-President of the Regulatory Division to opt for the imposition of a fine instead of the filing of a disciplinary complaint.

The violations that may be considered for this process are as follows:

  • Incomplete or inaccurate report pertaining to the accumulation of positions for derivative instruments - article 6.500 (former article 14102(1))
  • Exceeding position limits – article 6.310/6.311 (former article 14157)
  • Non-compliance with the time limit for reporting an exchange for physical transaction, or an exchange for risk (EFP/EFRP) ) – article 6.208 (former articles 6815 h) and 6815A j))
  • Non-compliance with the time of market exposure – article 6.3 (former article 6380)
  • Failure to send a notice of noncompliance or a notice of exceeding position limits, within the prescribed time – articles 3.105 and 6.500 (former article 4002 and 14102(7))
  • Prohibited use of the “hidden liquidity” functionality – article 6.3 (former article 6380)
  • Granting unauthorized access to the automated system – articles 3.4 et 3.400 (former articles 6366 A) and 7403)

The fines for each of these violations are provided in the List of Fines for Minor Violations.

Processus disciplinaires

Procédure

Sur réception d'un rapport d'enquête recommandant que des procédures de nature disciplinaire soient entreprises, la Bourse peut signifier un avis introductif à un participant agréé ou à une personne approuvée.

La partie intimée doit signifier à la Bourse une réponse, dans les dix (10) jours ouvrables suivant la date de signification de cet avis introductif, conformément à l'article 4.252 des Règles de la Bourse (ancien article 4152).

Conformément aux articles 4.301 à 4.307 des Règles de la Bourse (anciens articles 4201 à 4207), une offre de règlement peut également être présentée en tout temps par la partie intimée. Sauf si la sanction proposée consiste en une réprimande, une amende d'au plus 5 000,00 $, l'obligation de reprendre un ou plusieurs cours donnés par l'Institut canadien des valeurs mobilières ou tout autre cours jugé approprié, ou une combinaison de ces trois sanctions, cette offre doit être approuvée par le Comité de Discipline à défaut de quoi, le dossier devra faire l'objet d'une audition.

En vertu des articles 4.351 et suivants des Règles de la Bourse (anciens articles 4251 et suivants), une décision rendue par le Comité de discipline de la Bourse peut être portée en appel, dans un délai de dix (10) jours ouvrables à compter de la date de sa signification, auprès du Comité spécial.

Toute décision rendue à cette occasion par le Comité spécial peut elle-même être portée en appel auprès du Tribunal administratif des marchés financiers, dans un délai de trente (30) jours.

De la même façon, toute décision finale rendue par le Tribunal administratif des marchés financiers peut faire l'objet d'un appel auprès de la Cour du Québec, si un avis à cet effet est déposé dans un délai de trente (30) jours à compter de la date de cette décision.

Comité de discipline

Le Comité de discipline entend les plaintes déposées en vertu de l'article 4.201 des Règles de la Bourse (ancien article 4101).

Conformément aux articles 4.202 et 4.203 des Règles de la Bourse (anciens articles 4102 et 4103), le Comité de discipline est composé de trois (3) personnes nommées par le vice-président, affaires juridiques (produits dérivés), dont :

  • deux (2) personnes qui sont soit des administrateurs, dirigeants ou associés des participants agréés de la Bourse ou qui sont à la retraite de l'industrie des valeurs mobilières et qui, avant de quitter, agissaient en tant qu’administrateurs, dirigeants ou associés d’un participant agréé; et
  • une personne qui n'est liée d'aucune façon à un participant agréé de la Bourse ou à la Bourse.

Processus d’amendes pour infractions mineures

Le 10 mai 2017, la Bourse de Montréal a autocertifié un amendement réglementaire mettant en place un processus d’amendes pour infractions mineures. Ce processus, introduit par les articles 4.308 à 4.312 des Règles de la Bourse (anciens articles 4220 à 4224), est un processus alternatif de mise en application.

Les infractions visées par ce processus ne sont pas qualifiées de « mineures ». Ce sont les circonstances de la commission d’une infraction énumérée à l’article 4.308 (ancien article 4220) qui peuvent être considérées comme étant « mineures » et ce faisant, pourront justifier la décision du vice-président de la Division de la réglementation d’opter pour l’imposition d’une amende au lieu de procéder au dépôt d’une plainte disciplinaire.

Les infractions pouvant faire l’objet du processus d’amendes pour infractions mineures sont les suivantes:

  • Production incomplète ou inexacte du rapport relatif à l’accumulation de positions pour les instruments dérivés (article 6.500 des Règles de la Bourse (ancien article 14102(1)))
  • Dépassement de limites de position (article 6.310 des Règles de la Bourse (ancien article 14157))
  • Non-respect du délai pour rapporter un échange physique pour contrats, ou un échange de dérivés hors bourse pour contrats (EFP/EFR) (article 6.208 des Règles de la Bourse (anciens articles 6815 h) et 6815A j)))
  • Non-respect du temps d’exposition au marché (article 6.205 des Règles de la Bourse (ancien article 6380))
  • Défaut de ne pas transmettre un avis de non-conformité ou un avis de dépassement de limite de position dans les délais prescrits (articles 3.105 et 6.500 (j) des Règles de la Bourse (anciens articles 4002 et 14102 (7)))
  • Usage prohibé de la fonction de volume caché (article 6.204 des Règles de la Bourse (ancien article 6380))
  • Octroi d’accès au système automatisé sans approbation (article 3.4 (a) et 3.400 des Règles de la Bourse (ancien article 6366))

Les amendes applicables pour chacune de ces infractions sont prévues à la Liste des amendes pour infractions mineuress.